Click here for the reading schedule for 2023 to see today’s reading, with links to the text and video of the reading.
To see my past posts on today’s reading or anything else, see the right-hand margin or click here.

Since this year’s curriculum is on the NT, I thought it would be a good idea to compare the KJV to the Joseph Smith Translation (which Mormons call “the Inspired Translation“). I will follow the CFM curriculum order and use the KJV chapter/verse numbers, so this post will be on Matt. 14, Mark 6, John 5, and John 6.

Matt. 14

This chapter has almost no meaningful differences; the only ones that are worth mentioning are both in v12, with the first changing from Jesus hearing of “it” (obviously speaking of John the Baptist’s death, given the context) to Jesus hearing “that John was beheaded” — a meaningful change, but not one that really makes a difference. The second change is similar, except it changes from the people hearing “thereof” (in the context, meaning that when the people hear that Jesus had left by ship) to the people hearing “of him” (meaning hearing of Jesus). This is a slight change in some ways, but big in others, especially since it breaks into the context and makes it sound rather different.

KJV


12 And his disciples came, and took up the body, and buried it, and went and told Jesus.
13 When Jesus heard of it, he departed thence by ship into a desert place apart: and when the people had heard thereof, they followed him on foot out of the cities.

JST


14:11 And his disciples came and took up the body, and buried it, and went and told Jesus.
14:12 When Jesus heard that John was beheaded, he departed thence by ship into a desert place apart; and when the people had heard of him, they followed him on foot out of the cities.

Mark 6

There are only a few meaningful differences here, which I’ll talk about. The first is changing from saying that Herod “observed” John the Baptist to saying that JtB “feared God and observed to worship him”, which is obviously quite a difference, though not one that introduces an error (as such) into the text, since JtB certainly did fear and worship God. However, this makes me wonder why JS would have changed this at all, and the only thing that makes sense to me is that JS didn’t understand what the gospels are saying about Herod, so he may have been trying to smooth over what he might have thought was a contradiction. Herod is, in many ways, self-contradictory in the gospels, because we have him hearing JtB gladly, fearing him, and knowing he was a just and holy man… yet he throws him into prison and ultimately beheads him. How can these two things be? I think the answer comes down to Herodias, and it shows how important a choice a wife is to a man. While Herod was a grown man and thus was completely responsible for his choices, we see that he did many wicked things in an attempt to please his wife, including throwing John into prison at first, then having him killed at last.

The next change is from “chief estates of Galilee” (which modern versions render as “leaders”, “prominent men”, and other such things that indicate that these “chief estates” were important leaders from Galilee) to “chief priests of Galilee”, which is an unusual choice at minimum, and potentially unorthodox at worst. This is because the term “chief priest” would be synonymous with “high priest”, and only one was permissible at a time under the Law of Moses, so this sounds like it’s saying that the Galileans had their own “chief priests” (in the plural, which is even worse than having just one to rival the chief priest in Jerusalem!). That said, priests were often ruling elders or prominent men in an area, so if this is saying merely that some priests were among the “prominent or ‘chief’ men of Galilee” whom Herod had as guests, then that would not be an unorthodox error. But at the least, it introduces an unnecessary ambiguity into the JST.

The last change is minor, saying that when Jesus walked on the water He would have passed by the disciples in the boat, to saying that He acted like He would go past them.

KJV


20 For Herod feared John, knowing that he was a just man and an holy, and observed him; and when he heard him, he did many things, and heard him gladly.
21 And when a convenient day was come, that Herod on his birthday made a supper to his lords, high captains, and chief estates of Galilee;


35 And when the day was now far spent, his disciples came unto him, and said, This is a desert place, and now the time is far passed:
36 Send them away, that they may go into the country round about, and into the villages, and buy themselves bread: for they have nothing to eat.

47 And when even was come, the ship was in the midst of the sea, and he alone on the land.
48 And he saw them toiling in rowing; for the wind was contrary unto them: and about the fourth watch of the night he cometh unto them, walking upon the sea, and would have passed by them.

49 But when they saw him walking upon the sea, they supposed it had been a spirit, and cried out:

52 For they considered not the miracle of the loaves: for their heart was hardened.

JST


6:21 For Herod feared John, knowing that he was a just man, and a holy man, and one who feared God and observed to worship him; and when he heard him, he did many things for him and heard him gladly.
6:22 But when Herod’s birthday was come, he made a supper for his lords, high captains, and the chief priests of Galilee.

6:36 And when the day was now far spent, his disciples came unto him and said, This is a solitary place, and now the time for departure is come; send them away, that they may go into the country round about, and into the villages, and buy themselves bread; for they have nothing to eat.

6:49 And when even was come, the ship was in the midst of the sea, and he alone on the land; and he saw them toiling in rowing, for the wind was contrary unto them.
6:50 And about the fourth watch of the night, he cometh unto them, walking upon the sea as if he would have passed by them.
6:51 And when they saw him walking upon the sea, they supposed it had been a spirit and cried out;

6:55 For they considered not of the loaves; for their hearts were hardened.

John 5

In both John 5 & 6, the JST changes to “the resurrection of the just” and “the resurrection of the unjust” when the original speaks of “the resurrection of life” and “the resurrection of damnation”, or simply inserts it in phrases such as, “raise him up at the last day”. It’s not unorthodox, but the question is, is it warranted? The JST claims to be restoring what the gospel originally said, so is there manuscript evidence to support these changes?

V31 (v32 in the JST) makes a change that I suspected would exist, from the KJV saying, “if I bear witness of myself, my witness is not true” to saying, “… yet my witness is true” — apparently because JS couldn’t understand the KJV, and thought it had Jesus saying that He was a liar, rather than what it meant in the context at the time — that a single witness was not sufficient witness to prove the truth, not that a single witness of something was necessarily lying.

The next major change is in v34 (JST v35), from Jesus saying, “I receive not testimony from man” to Him saying, “He [John the Baptist] received not his testimony of man, but of God”. It’s difficult for me to figure out why JS changed this. In the KJV, the context is that Jesus is showing His detractors that they have nowhere to hide for their unbelief, because JtB testified of Him, and even though Jesus doesn’t need John’s testimony, it is still there and the detractors can’t deny it as a second, human witness. The JST almost sounds like this “testimony” is the “repent and be baptized” message that JtB preached, which he got from God and not man, rather than that John was testifying about Jesus.

I’ll discuss one more major change after the text, the small differences between v38 and JST v39.

KJV


28 Marvel not at this: for the hour is coming, in the which all that are in the graves shall hear his voice,
29 And shall come forth; they that have done good, unto the resurrection of life; and they that have done evil, unto the resurrection of damnation.
[Much of this next part in the JST is the same text in a different order, but some if it is added.]
30 I can of mine own self do nothing: as I hear, I judge: and my judgment is just; because I seek not mine own will, but the will of the Father which hath sent me.
31 If I bear witness of myself, my witness is not true.

32 There is another that beareth witness of me; and I know that the witness which he witnesseth of me is true.
33 Ye sent unto John, and he bare witness unto the truth.
34 But I receive not testimony from man: but these things I say, that ye might be saved.


35 He was a burning and a shining light: and ye were willing for a season to rejoice in his light.
36 But I have greater witness than that of John: for the works which the Father hath given me to finish, the same works that I do, bear witness of me, that the Father hath sent me.
37 And the Father himself, which hath sent me, hath borne witness of me. Ye have neither heard his voice at any time, nor seen his shape.

38 And ye have not his word abiding in you: for whom he hath sent, him ye believe not.
39 Search the scriptures; for in them ye think ye have eternal life: and they are they which testify of me.
40 And ye will not come to me, that ye might have life.

41 I receive not honour from men.

44 How can ye believe, which receive honour one of another, and seek not the honour that cometh from God only?
45 Do not think that I will accuse you to the Father: there is one that accuseth you, even Moses, in whom ye trust.

JST


5:28 Marvel not at this; for the hour is coming in the which all who are in their graves shall hear his voice,
5:29 And shall come forth–they who have done good, in the resurrection of the just; and they who have done evil, in the resurrection of the unjust
5:30 And shall all be judged of the Son of Man. For as I hear, I judge, and my judgment is just;
5:31 For I can of mine own self do nothing because I seek not mine own will, but the will of the Father who hath sent me.
5:32 Therefore, if I bear witness of myself, yet my witness is true.

5:33 For I am not alone; there is another who beareth witness of me, and I know that the testimony which he giveth of me is true.
5:34 Ye sent unto John, and he bare witness also unto the truth.
5:35 And he received not his testimony of man, but of God; and ye yourselves say that he is a prophet; therefore, ye ought to receive his testimony. These things I say that ye might be saved.
5:36 He was a burning and a shining light; and ye were willing for a season to rejoice in his light.
5:37 But I have a greater witness than the testimony of John; for the works which the Father hath given me to finish, the same works that I do, bear witness of me, that the Father hath sent me.
5:38 And the Father himself who sent me, hath borne witness of me. And verily, I testify unto you that ye have never heard his voice at any time, nor seen his shape;
5:39 For ye have not his word abiding in you; and him whom he hath sent, ye believe not.
5:40 Search the scriptures; for in them ye think ye have eternal life; and they are they which testify of me.
5:41 And ye will not come to me that ye might have life, lest ye should honor me.
5:42 I receive not honor from men.

5:45 How can ye believe, who seek honor one of another and seek not the honor which cometh from God only?
5:46 Do not think that I will accuse you to the Father; there is Moses who accuseth you, in whom ye trust.

The changes in v38 (JST v39) are swapping two small words, but these are important words and make a big change in how we understand it. For context, in the previous verse, Jesus said that the people in his audience have never heard God’s voice nor seen His shape, then continues by saying, “and ye have not his word abiding in you: for whom he hath sent, him ye believe not”. The JST swaps the two bold words, “and” and “for” — but they are not interchangeable! “For” implies reason or causality, so the JST is saying that the people haven’t seen or heard God because God’s word isn’t abiding in them, while the KJV is saying that they don’t have God’s word abiding in them because they don’t believe in Jesus.

John 6

Despite the length of this chapter (some 70 verses), there are few meaningful changes between the KJV and JST. Other than the above-mentioned change of “resurrection of the just”, I will only highlight one major change that happens in both v44 and v65: changing the Bible from displaying Calvinism to hiding it.

In both verses, Jesus says that no man can come to Him, except the Father first perform a work in that man — in v44, it is “except the Father… draw him”, and in v65, Jesus says he’s explaining what he meant in v44, and says, “except it were given unto him of my Father”. Hyper-Arminian that JS was, apparently he couldn’t accept the clear Biblical statement that God must first work in the heart of man before the man will come to God, because in both instances, he changes it from “no man can come unto me unless the Father first does a work” to “no man can come unto me unless man first does a work”. It’s pretty bad when you have to change the Bible to fit your beliefs! If your beliefs and the Bible don’t agree, methinks that what should change is not the Bible.

KJV


12 When they were filled, he said unto his disciples, Gather up the fragments that remain, that nothing be lost.

26 Jesus answered them and said, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Ye seek me, not because ye saw the miracles, but because ye did eat of the loaves, and were filled.

27 Labour not for the meat which perisheth, but for that meat which endureth unto everlasting life, which the Son of man shall give unto you: for him hath God the Father sealed.

40 And this is the will of him that sent me, that every one which seeth the Son, and believeth on him, may have everlasting life: and I will raise him up at the last day.

44 No man can come to me, except the Father which hath sent me draw him: and I will raise him up at the last day.




45 It is written in the prophets, And they shall be all taught of God. Every man therefore that hath heard, and hath learned of the Father, cometh unto me.

54 Whoso eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, hath eternal life; and I will raise him up at the last day.


65 And he said, Therefore said I unto you, that no man can come unto me, except it were given unto him of my Father.

JST


6:12 When they had eaten and were satisfied, he said unto his disciples, Gather up the fragments that remain, that nothing be lost.

6:26 Jesus answered them and said, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Ye seek me, not because ye desire to keep my sayings, neither because ye saw the miracles, but because ye did eat of the loaves and were filled.
6:27 Labor not for the meat which perisheth, but for that meat which endureth unto everlasting life, which the Son of Man hath power to give unto you; for him hath God the Father sealed.

6:40 And this is the will of him that sent me, that everyone which seeth the Son and believeth on him may have everlasting life; and I will raise him up in the resurrection of the just at the last day.

6:44 No man can come unto me except he doeth the will of my Father who hath sent me. And this is the will of him who hath sent me, that ye receive the Son; for the Father beareth record of him; and he who receiveth the testimony and doeth the will of him who sent me, I will raise up in the resurrection of the just.
6:45 For it is written in the prophets, And these shall all be taught of God. Every man, therefore, that hath heard and hath learned of the Father cometh unto me.

6:54 Whoso eateth my flesh and drinketh my blood hath eternal life; and I will raise him up in the resurrection of the just at the last day.

6:65 And he said, Therefore said I unto you, that no man can come unto me except he doeth the will of my Father who hath sent me.

Click here for all my posts on this curriculum and here for the MRM posts on the NT Come, Follow Me curriculum for 2023;
click here for the 2023 CFM curriculum at LDS.org, and here is the 2019 NT CFM curriculum.

Like my content?
Tap the “Follow” button in the right margin at the top,
or enter your email to subscribe below. Thanks!

Leave a comment